A born loser

The road to hell, it is said, is paved with good intentions. And no good deed goes unpunished. Which basically means that despite all your good intentions, if someone has reached a conclusion about your character, no matter what you say, how you say, there’s little chance of a rollback of their opinion about you – unlike the budgetary proposals in the Parliament. Ask me – been there, done that, and not too long back.

I have often wondered if honesty is really the best policy, especially when it comes to good intentions. What if not knowing something could actually prove beneficial for you in the long run – would we hide the truth, or just outright lie? I am not saying I have been an honest broker all my life, but when it came to her, I promised myself, and her, that no more lies, half-truths. Just the truth – brutal, frank, and total, no matter what the consequences.

Well, the consequences came via a sms. Sorry, they were reiterated via a sms. That helping someone in need can have disastrous consequences for long-term life plans, is something I am just coming to terms with. Would I change anything, if I could revisit the past? I don’t know. Would it be worth it? I thought it might be, but on second thoughts, shouldn’t a person accept you for who you are – warts, moles, blemishes, et al? After all, the other person is accepting you for who you are – so shouldn’t there be a fair reciprocation?

Unfortunately, not too many things in life are fair. In fact, some pearls of wisdom even state that life itself is not fair. So be it – we have to learn and live. Sure, the guilty-till-proven-innocent maxim is not fair, but that’s the way the cookie sometimes crumbles. All that is left for you to do is pick up the pieces and move on, wishing the person well in life and trying hard not to have any expectations.

So don’t get worked up too much over a heart-break, it happens and you’ll live to see the next day’s sunrise. Trust me, this comes from a ‘seasoned’ professional!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

